FIRST EMAIL!

Family,
 
So here we go on this week.
I cannot believe that my mission is finally here. It was such a crazy experience saying bye to family & friends and it was one of the hardest things I have ever done. After they took me away, I went straight in to get my missionary name tag “Elder Swenson La Iglesia De Jesucristo De Los Santos De Los Ultimos Dias” It was such a crazy moment. It was finally time for me to serve. So then we went and got a bunch of materials and such. We then went into the classroom and there is a short teacher saying sadfhklashdklsdfhklasdhfgklghdosaghiosatjpoweaejpjngpsdnapgnpa…. I said to myself, this is insane. It was so funny because none of our district knew what the heck she was saying. It was so awkward and overall just hilarious. I then met my companion Elder Richards. He is from Dallas, TX and he is just such an awasome guy. We have so much in common except for our appearance. Me: skinny and tall, Him: Short and buff. He went to school at a military school in South Carolina. We are getting along so great and we are taking in every moment. We then went into a big fireside for everyone who arrived that day. They welcomed us and gave us guidlines to be the best missionaries we can. I saw Elder Prince right when we got out, he was really excited and seems to be doing great. I have seen him a couple times since then. Right after that I saw Elder McMahon, a best friend from EFY. He is going to Spain and he is excited as can be. I then saw Sister Bradford, she said to me “OH MY GOSH YOU ARE HERE! I WANT TO HUG YOU BUT I CAN’T. I have seen her 2 or 3 times since then and we both just frown when we see each other cause we just want to give eachother a hug. I love her & I love to see her. I have also seen many that I had no idea they would be in the MTC while I was here. It was like everyone I needed to see was placed there for me to comfort me on such a hard day.
The next 2 days were the hardest days of my life. We were studying, studying, studying and then we’d eat, then study more, then eat and then did I mention we would study?! Learning a language is so very difficult but it surprises me how much I have learned these past 7 days. On Thursday I woke up at 6:20 and thought, here we go… 2 more years of getting up at 6:20. On Saturday everything clicked. The day went by quicker, I am undersanding more and more Spanish and our district began to bond and become really good friends. Since then everything has been INCREDIBLE. I have loved the moments that I have here.
On Sunday I had a “Am I really supposed to be here” moment & immediately after that thought came into my mind someone started to read D&C 20:11 “Proving to the world that the holy scriptures are true, and that God does inspire men and call them to his holy work in this age and generation, as well as in generations of old.” Such a tender moment for me. He has called me here & I know that I am here to serve God’s children. He loves all of his children & I am here to bring people to this wonderful gospel. I could not be more grateful for the opportunity to serve and to be here.
A funny story, our district came up with a new phrase… YOMO (You’re Only a Missionary Once). It has become a funny phrase to us since everybody hates the term YOLO (You Only Live Once) My district is seriously so awesome I could not have asked for a better one. They make me want to be better and do better.
I wish I could tell you more about this week but I only have these 30 minutes… So I will bear you my testimony in español.
Yo se que Jesucristo es el Redentor y Salvado. Yo se que Evangelio de Jesucristo es verdadero. Yo se que Dios es amoroso. Yo se que familias es eternos. Yo se que Espiritu es verdadero. Yo se que el Presidente Thomas S. Monson es un profeta verdadero. Yo se que La Iglesia de Jesucristo de los Santos de los Ultimos Dias es verdadero. Este testimonio ayuda me amar a otros y su perar desa fios y vivir feliz. Me encanta siendo un misionero.
En el nombre de Jesucristo. Amen.
 
Te amo (I love you)
Hope everything is well.
Talk to you soon 🙂
Elder Swenson
About elderswenson

Serving the Lord for 2 years in Puebla, Mexico :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

