Give a Little Whistle!

So…. are you ready for this? For the first time in my ENTIRE LIFE… I WHISTLED!!!! It was Thursday. Sadly I can only whistle two notes, BUT STILL!!!! How COOL IS THAT!? It is just like Pinocchio and the song “Give A Little Whistle” hence the title of this email 🙂

This week was ridiculous with appointments falling through but we had incredible moments nonetheless.
Edith has a fracture in her foot. So we went to give her a blessing and guess what? I gave my first blessing in Spanish 🙂 It was rusty at the beginning, I had to start over because I started off wrong, but it was incredible as I felt the words come to my mind, to give a blessing for Edith. It was truly an incredible experience 🙂 Edith really wants to come to church, the pain in her foot will subside and she will come back 🙂 I am so excited!!!
The Rodriguez Ramirez family is back!!! AND FERNANDO TOO!!! We have the family together again! I am so excited to teach them as a family and I hope and pray they will progress in the gospel. 🙂 They are a really amazing family.
Now… what you have been waiting for… FERNANDO!!!
So… our lesson with Fernando on Thursday night was truly incredible. When we arrived he said his wife and daughters were at his mother in laws house. We taught the Gospel of Jesus Christ. Fernando is just golden, in the back of the pamphlets there is an additional study part where you can search the scriptures and learn more about topics. Well, he did the additional study… yeah, he is the best. We taught faith, repentance, and baptism. As we talked about baptism he broke down… He said, the reason my wife and daughters aren’t here is because my wife took the kids and left. I don’t know if they are going to come back, they are my life and my world. If you guys didn’t come tonight I don’t know what would have happened. I need to be baptized, I need to repent, I need to change my life. I need this gospel in my life, so much more. As we promised him that if he stays true to the teachings of the gospel and if he told his wife that he is changing and that he loves her that she would come back. After we finished our lesson, she called. He said I am here with the Elders, I know what I need to do. I love you so much. After he dropped us off, he went to pick up his wife and daughters. 🙂 We had our last lesson before his baptismal interview today. We taught the word of wisdom and law of tithing. Thanks to his wife, Noemi, he knows so much. They are so happy, and just an incredible family. We were there for 4 hours talking, eating, sharing thoughts about the gospel. As Noemi told us of her conversion and how critical Francisco was during her conversion, it is incredible to see the huge change Francisco has had in his heart. How badly he wants to be with his family for eternity. He truly is the biggest blessing. I love this family and I am so happy that I am going to have the opportunity to baptize Francisco 😀 I cannot express my love for this mission. For the opportunity I have to put on a tag, everyday that says Elder Swenson, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. I have the name Elder, the same as the apostles. I am preaching the best news ever to those who need it. I am eternally grateful for this mission.
Sadly… the world ends on Friday so this is my last email. 😦 I love you all so very much and am so grateful for your support, love, and just everything you do for me. Words cannot express my gratitude. 
I wish you all the best as the world ends 😉
Counting Blessings: Christmas Caroling… how much I LOVE Christmas caroling. It was a tradition I loved having growing up. 🙂 Also, a huge blessing that I miss a ton is Uncle Scott’s Chicago Mints!!!! (Marshall Field’s Frango chocolate mints) I love you Woolley’s!
Remember this Christmas season who it is all about. Our Savior, Jesus Christ.
Te amo mucho.
-Elder Swenson

About elderswenson

Serving the Lord for 2 years in Puebla, Mexico :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

