Hey Fattie!

So something that I find here in Mexico insanely hilarious is Fattie is used as a term of endearment. Husbands and wives call each other “gordo” (fat or fattie) like we use the words “love, baby, darling, sweetheart” It is SO funny. Also when describing people “Oh, you mean the little fat girl.” hahahahaha I don’t know, I get a kick out of it and I hope you all did too. 🙂
This week was just as slow if not SLOWER than last week. Nobody was home… BUT we had a good time once again with members and less-actives.
One thing I wanted to share today that I learned either in the MTC or here, I don’t remember, is that the Book of Mormon is TRULY written for our day. Literally, think about it. The Nephites and Lamanites, all the other groups in the Book Of Mormon couldn’t read this book. It was written for us, we have it, and we need to read it. EVERYDAY. Something I truly regret is not studying the scriptures more, truly “feasting on the words of Christ” because they truly tell you all the things that we need to do.
A couple cool/funny stories of this week.
So yesterday, on the 6th of January,  is “Dia de Reyes” A holiday celebrated here 12 days after Christmas when the 3 kings came to visit Jesus after his birth. They get more presents, and have this circular bread thing called “Rosca de Reyes” I ate it about 4 times this week hahaha. Also, they sell balloons and the kids write a note to the kings and let the balloon go. I thought this holiday was pretty sweet 🙂 Who knows, maybe I will celebrate it with my family in the future. 
Now this story is a doozie…. So Elder Muñoz and I do NOT know the area of Apizaco well at all because it is HUGE and really easy to get lost. So for one of our comidas (dinner appointments) this week we needed to go to San SIMON. Welp… We took a combi named San SIMEON. Went about 30 minutes the OPPOSITE direction of San Simon. hahahahahah It was so funny when Elder Muñoz asked the woman sitting next to us… this is the combi for San Simon right? The lady laughed and said “No this is San SIMEON… You should probably get off now… hahahaha!” SO FUNNY.
Elder Muñoz is heading out tomorrow and I will have a new companion.
I have learned SO much from him and I truly do not want him to go. He is one of my best friends and I have truly learned so much from him. I know that he will bring so much joy to his new companion (as he trains again) and to the new area he will be in. I am forever grateful to him and all he has done for me. When people say that the 1st 3 months of the mission are the hardest (which will probably be true) I know mine were much easier having Elder Muñoz as my “dad”. 
I love you all so very much. The gospel is true and let us all strengthen our faith and testimony every day. 
Te amo 
-Elder Swenson
“Happiness is a choice”
Counting Blessings: Kayla Durnian, she turns 20 on Wednesday!!! I love her so much and hope that she has the best birthday ever. She is incredible and one of the BIGGEST blessings in my life. ❤

Eric and his district

Image
Youth in the wardImageImage 
Bishop and his family

 

About elderswenson

Serving the Lord for 2 years in Puebla, Mexico :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

