Stop. Look. Run.

One of my FAVORITE things about the mission is when we are walking in the street and someone looks me directly in the eyes, looks super surprised/scared, then literally runs to the other side of the street so we don’t talk to them. Bahahahahaah! It is so funny and I die laughing sometimes 🙂
Couple stories of the week:
I locked us out of our house (left the keys inside and we shut the door) so we broke into our house with a wire to open the door, then with my giant arms I opened the door 🙂 hahahaha!
I am the choir pianist now and everyone loves me 🙂 hahahahaha just kidding but they all are amazed at my LITTLE piano talent. I LOVED choir yesterday and seriously am really excited to play for them next week. We are singing “We’ll Sing All Hail To Jesus Name” and they actually sound really great 😉
So this week was INCREDIBLY difficult because we had one or more very discouraging occasions… Our GOLDEN investigator dropped us because his family doesn’t want us to meet with him anymore. (He is 24) I was super sad, but he said he would take the lessons when his family lightened up and he is still super interested. We gave him a Book of Mormon and he said he would read it and pray to see what he needed to do about his situation. Then we had another potential investigator (husband of a member) and he told us… “I am not ready to committ to things just yet. I know that I need to do everything you missionaries ask me to do to receive my answer and I am just not ready yet”… Just when I lost ALL hope/faith… okay not all but a lot, we found a 10 year old who wants to be baptized 🙂 His family is less active but they are reactivating and he really wants to be baptized! 🙂 I am sooooooo happy and know that like the scriptures always say “Through much tribulation, come the blessings” I know that my Father in Heaven is watching over me every minute.
Something I wanted to share for about 7 months now but never had time to do so was in one study I had of Alma 5 (The self check chapter)
I will write the verses/questions that gave me a slap to the face 🙂
“Do I look forward with an eye of faith, and view his mortal body raised in immortality, and this corruption raised in corruption, to stand before God to be judged according to my deeds which have been done in my mortal body?”
“Can I imagine myself hearing the voice of the Lord, saying to me in that day: “Come unto me my blessed, for behold, your works have been the works of righteousness upon the face of the earth” or do I imagine myself brought before the tribunal of God with my soul filled with guilt & remorse with a perfect remembrance of all my guilt, all my wickedness, with a remembrance that I have set at defiance the commandments of God?” Here comes my favorite part…
 21 I say unto you, ye will know at that day that ye cannot beasaved; for there can no man be saved except his bgarments are washed white; yea, his garments must be cpurified until they are cleansed from all stain, through the blood of him of whom it has been spoken by our fathers, who should come to redeem his people from their sins.

 26 And now behold, I say unto you, my brethren, if ye have experienced a achange of heart, and if ye have felt to sing the bsongof redeeming love, I would ask, ccan ye feel so now?

27 Have ye walked, keeping yourselves ablameless before God? Could ye say, if ye were called to die at this time, within yourselves, that ye have been sufficiently bhumble? That your garments have been ccleansed and made white through the blood of Christ, who will come to dredeem his people from their sins?

 28 Behold, are ye stripped of apride? I say unto you, if ye are not ye are not prepared to meet God. Behold ye must prepare quickly; for the kingdom of heaven is soon at hand, and such an one hath not eternal life.

 

This is so true…. Let us ALL prepare to stand before God at that last day, I mean that is what this life is all about 🙂 May God Bless You in every path that you take and that every step can bring you closer to your Father in Heaven and that He will guide your paths.
 
I love you all so much. Thank you for EVERYTHING!
Te amo,
Elder Swenson
Counting Blessings: The scriptures and Preach My Gospel. I have the chance to study them intensely every morning. I have learned SO much and will continue to study these incredible guides for our lives for the rest of my life. I LOVE THIS GOSPEL!
 
For Suzie
Image
 
 
After choir
Image
 
 
Image
About elderswenson

Serving the Lord for 2 years in Puebla, Mexico :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

