Growing Up!

This week was my companions birthday!!!!!  :)))) Elder Logroño turned 20 years old on the 27th of September along with my life long friends; Senia Gex, Dallin Busby, and Regan Busby. I love these 3 people so much and I am so grateful for the friendship that they have given me. I really just cannot express my love and admiration for them. They have been such great examples to me all of my life (even though Regan was born 2 years after me… hahahah! you get what I mean).

It really got me to think that we grow up so fast. Time truly does fly. What are we doing to make sure that our lives are all that we hoped they would be? Well, as for me, I am living my dream serving a mission. I am striving to be the representative of Jesus Christ that I need to be. I read Mosiah 2 this week and it talks about keeping the commandments! My favorite part is the last verse, where it says we will receive never-ending happiness if we keep the commandments. Can you imagine never-ending happiness? I reflected on this a lot, what am I doing to keep all of the commandments that God has given us. What am I going to do to change the ones I am not keeping. When it comes to these things we cannot go to a mortal person to ask for help, we have to go to our Father in Heaven who listens and answers our prayers. It was a great study and a great moment I had to share with you all 🙂
My companion had an AWESOME birthday and I gladly took part of it 🙂 We had a lot of fun and it was a crazy day. The other Elders had a baptism, we had a surprise cake for Elder Logroño after and then it started to POUR DOWN RAIN! Literally, a HUGE change after 2 seconds. We had a last appointment with the Garcia family to have a bday fiesta! We had to run through the RIVER that was made through the rain and my shoes were DRENCHED. hahahah! It was fun 🙂
This week was really awesome, lots and lots of success. The highlight was a family we are teaching. The Corona family is returning to the church (all but the father) and their youngest son is named Tristan. He has a disease where his pores are closed… so if he has a fever he cannot sweat and you have to get him emergency attention if anything happens to the kid. It is really crazy, but he is so sweet and so humble. He is almost 10 and said that he didn’t want to get baptized… because he wanted to wait til he turned 10. We taught him the Plan of Salvation with drawings this week and when I invited him to be baptized he lit up and was so excited. He will be baptized the 26th of October 🙂 I am so happy for him. 
To close this email off I HAVE to put a quote that my cousin, Alison Jones put in one of her last emails on her mission that has completely changed my life… I love it so much, it is written at the back of my planner 🙂
 
“I am part of the fellowship of the unashamed. The dye has been cast. I have stepped over the line. The decision has been made; I am a disciple of Jesus Christ. I won’t look back, let up, slow down, or be still. My past is redeemed, my present makes sense, and my future is secure. I’m finished and done with low living, small planning, smooth knees, colorless dreams, tinted visions, worldly talking, cheap giving, and dwarfed goals. I no longer need pre-eminence, positions, promotions, plaudits, or popularity. I don’t have to be right, first recognized, praised, regarded, or rewarded. I now live by faith, lean on His presence, walk with patience, am lifted up in prayer, and labor with power. My face is set, my goal is heaven. My road is narrow, my way is rough, my companions few, my guide is reliable, my mission is clear. I cannot be bought, compromised, detoured, lured away, divided or delayed, will not flinch in the face of sacrifice, hesitate in the presence of the adversary, negotiate at the table with the enemy, ponder at the pool of popularity, or meander in the maze of mediocrity. I won’t give up, shut up, or let up until I have stayed up, stored up, and paid up for the case of Christ. I must go till He comes, give till I drop, preach till all know, and work till He stops me. When He returns for His own He will have no problem recognizing me, my banner is clear”
 
I am so blessed, and so happy to be here.
Te amo!
Elder Swenson
Counting Blessings: Mormon Messages, I LOVE THESE THINGS 🙂 They really help me to be happy.

 

 
About elderswenson

Serving the Lord for 2 years in Puebla, Mexico :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

