Hospitals=my worst nightmare!

FIRST OFF. Don’t worry, everything is fine 🙂 I will explain everything!
I have to go through the week to let you all know what happened.
I just want to get to the highlights because I am REALLY short on time and I have WAYYYY too much to say.
First, I had divisions with Elder Reidhead this week. He is from Arizona and he leaves with me this change. This Elder is SO awesome, we were laughing all day and we are great friends. 🙂
We went to visit Jherssan for the first time in E. Reidheads area… I was not expecting what would happen in the next 2 and a half hours…
Jherssan is an INCREDIBLE human being. He just got here in Mexico after living in LA, Cali for basically his whole life. He is 25 and he got there when he was 9.
He told us his whole life story, ALL in english. My first english lesson on the mission. Although I will tell you some strong experiences he had I want you to know that Jherssan was very calm, composed, and funny in his own way.
Basically, he got involved in bad things very young and acknowledged the bad influences of many in his life. He got into drugs, got into crews, got into alcohol. Many things… He explained to us when he was 18 he was in jail and made a commitment to help himself through searching for God and making his life better. He had a wife and 2 girls. So when he got out, he turned his life around. Got a job, got an apartment, and all was going good. His wife cheated on him because he didn’t treat her right SO he got back into bad things. One day the 26th of December 2010 he was super drunk and went to give his ex-wife a piece of his mind… on the way there he got jumped. With bats, golf clubs, and a wrench to his head. He went to see his ex to get some help but wanted revenge. When his ex wouldn’t give him a knife he was so drunk he jumped from a window wanting to get to the roof of another house. He fell and landed on the same side he was hit with the wrench. He immediately fell into coma. So when the doctors told the family that they could do a surgery but he had a 98% chance of having strong defects (losing speech, paralized, retarded, etc) he came out of the operation with a slight paralysis in his left side. He walks with a limp and he cannot use his left arm. BUT he is a walking miracle. He speaks English perfectly and Spanish as well. He then told us how he met the missionaries there. How he almost got baptized but ran away from the baptism because of the pressure and not feeling ready. It was just CRAZYYYYY! I was so blessed to know Jherssan and the many things he taught me that I will never forget. Sorry if that was so jumbled…. I hope you got the point of the amazing experience.
On the 4th of July I went to the hospital because my hip was being so weird and it was causing pain. SO, I HATE hospitals. They scare me and it is a scary place. Also, being a missionary it is awkward having nurses all around you and touching you and stuff. (I understand this is their job but yeah awkward…) Anyway they put me in that dress thing that hospital patients use to take X-rays. Everything turned out fine. I have Bursitis, which means that the hip bone and the thigh bone (i think) are just rubbing together a little weird but it will pass. I feel perfect today and nothing has annoyed me. He said it is caused by walking or running a lot. Uhhh…. well you think after 2 years of walking everywhere got me here… hahahha 🙂
Also Elder Ochoa is in the hospital so we went to visit him today and run favors for them yesterday in the pouring rain. PLEASSEEE pray for Elder Ochoa. He was bleeding from his knee after his operation 2 weeks ago and he had to go in for surgery AGAIN this weekend and is pretty bad. He needs our prayers and our faith 🙂 I love this guy, he was an incredible comp and I am glad I can be here for him in this hard time.
I loved something a sister said in her testimony this week. What would you do if you found the cure to cancer???? WELL, you would share it with everyone you knew right? Well we have the cure to a broken heart, loneliness, trials and pains. That is the gospel of Jesus Christ and we need to share it with others, EVERYONE 🙂 I LOVED THAT!
AHHHHHH! SO MUCH TO SHARE! NO TIME!
Just a quick quote and scripture to end this off. My Aunt Sherida sent me a package and a letter for my bday and I loved LOVED the quotes she sent me. I will share one 🙂
“Peace is not something you wish for. It is something you make, something you are, something you do and something you give away” Robert Fulghum
 9 I know that which the Lord hath commanded me, and I glory in it. I do not glory of myself, but I glory in that which the Lord hath commanded me; yea, and this is my glory, that perhaps I may be an instrument in the hands of God to bring some soul to repentance; and this is my joy.
 
I am an instrument in HIS hands. I am so grateful for this calling 🙂
TE AMO!
Elder Swenson
Counting Blessings: Happy Bday Zak my wonderful brother in law 🙂
SO MANY OTHERS I WANT TO SHARE!
About elderswenson

Serving the Lord for 2 years in Puebla, Mexico :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

