“There are no true endings, only everlasting beginnings”

Boy, oh boy, oh boy. IS THIS REAL LIFE! My second to last email.

I love love love this quote that I put as the heading. It means a LOT to me at this time. I know that there is an end to this time, but it isn’t really the end is it? (As said in Harry Potter 🙂 hahhaha)
There are only pages waiting to be written in my life and these 2 chapters, these 2 years of my life have shaped me completely into the person that I need to become. This isn’t over, there is always time for missionary work. Now is my time to finish strong and to fight this final battle. 🙂
TOO MUCH TO SAY! hahahah!
So a long while back I read a talk in a Liahona from Pres. Gordon B. Hinckley that was called “Gifts to bring home after being in the missionary field” or something like that. I truly feel like THESE are the gifts I will truly bring home, they are so important and have changed my life.
1. Knowledge of God, His Son Jesus Christ, and a love for them.
2. Knowledge of the scriptures and the word of God, and a love for them.
3. A greater love for parents.
4.  Love for the people that were taught.
5. Appreciation for hard work.
6. The certainty of the Spirit that is at our reach if we are worthy of it.
7. Understanding of the importance of working in a team.
8. The courage of personal virtue.
9. The faith to work.
10. Humility to pray.
Whoever is reading this, these are the gifts that I hope to bring home 🙂 They truly are the KEY to a returned missionary. I have felt so blessed to see these giant changes in me. I know that if I have learned all this I cannot toss it aside. These are the keys to happiness and the keys to peace in one’s life. If any of you see that I fault something here, remind me of it and help me to be better 🙂
My cousin Alison said something upon her return that I absolutely LOVED! She said “returning home after your mission is like eating a brownie with staples in it” HOW TRUE IS THIS. It is so bittersweet. I am so anxious for the reunions I will have with family and dear friends. So anxious to see my nephew who I haven’t truly known yet, so anxious to get back into the temple and attend regularly, so anxious to meet Paul’s puppy Koda, so anxious to live the gospel WITH my family and friends. BUT so hurt to know that I am leaving so many things behind… this country, this people, this wonderful spirit that can only be felt here in the mission and being surrounded by so many wonderful missionaries, my mission president and his wife, each memory that I have shared will be cherished throughout my life. I truly just cannot believe it is all coming to an end.
As Peter Pan says “HERE WE GO!!!”
Let’s top this thing off with a great scripture 🙂
Alma 26:12
Yea, I know that I am nothing; as to my strength I am weak; therefore I will not boast of myself, but I will boast of my God, for in his strength I can do all things; yea, behold, many mighty miracles we have wrought in this land, for which we will praise his name forever.
Everything that I have done here is because of HIM! I haven’t done anything 🙂 I really like this scripture.
See you soon 🙂
TE AMO!
Elder Swenson
Counting Blessings: Elder Ochoa is doing great 🙂 He is out of the hospital now. On Wednesday I stayed with him in the hospital all day. We watched the Argentina vs. Netherlands match. HORRIBLE!!!! hahahahaha! Sorry but it was so boring. :/ Congrats Germany on taking the World Cup. We watched “”White House Down” which E. Ochoa and I saw a part of in a bus on the way to Puebla. It was SO INTENSE and we stopped half way because we got to Puebla. A really good movie 🙂 I liked it. And then watched a good 20 minutes of Les Mis. It was a good day 🙂 Love E. Ochoa!! 🙂
About elderswenson

Serving the Lord for 2 years in Puebla, Mexico :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

