My Last “Te Amo”

What in the world… is this reallllll????? This is my last email as a full-time missionary to you all.

I cannot believe it.

Many have asked me how I feel and I just want to put a scripture down…

2 John 1:12-” Having many things to write unto you, I would not write with paper and ink: but I trust to come unto you, and speak face to face, that our joy may be full.”

Just kidding, but it fits doesn’t it? 🙂 hahahah!

ANYWAY, just want to tell you that my last week in the mission field was absolutely perfect. I can honestly say one of the best weeks of the mission. 🙂

We played a lot of fútbol in ward activites and to contact some people (a good 20 people 🙂 It was really fun and I seriously think that I play best as goalie (just like when I was 11)

We spent ALL day on Tuesday moving some members and sledghammering a hole in the wall to put a door in. It was REALLY fun and boy, service is so rewarding. I feel like I served people more this week than any other week and I felt SO blessed. We also helped the Cholulas paint a wall and their family room on Wednesday 🙂

My last district meeting was this week and it was perfect. It was on obedience, promised blessings in serving the Lord, and some other life lessons. I REALLY enjoyed it and my comp made me give my input on how this will help me when I am home.

I had my last interview with President this week and it was really difficult… 😦 He told me “Elder, this chapter of your life has come to a close. It is okay to say, hey that part of my life was INCREDIBLE, look how much it has helped me in my life, etc. BUT it is okay to say that that chapter is over.” In the prayer at the end Pres. Christensen said “Father, bless this Elder to add to the many things that he has learned here upon his return home. Help him to truly live his life faithful to his covenants.” It was really special. 🙂

We taught a lessont to about 9 people this week and I felt like I was giving my own “Sermon on the Mount” it was REALLY cool. Everyone was participating… there were adults, kids, and older people there too. It was just really special.

One day, on Saturday we had 4 lessons, one referral contacted WITH the member, 1 new investigator, and 14 contacts. It was REALLY quite the way to end off the week even though we still hadSunday left.

Sunday, the ward asked me to speak and so I talked about the 10 gifts to bring home from the mission field. I talked specifically to the Young Men and Yound Women. I told them “Hey, the reason I am adressing you is because you are going to see the future right now. What you will all learn in the mission field coming from an almost returned missionary.” I got pretty emotional at the end and saw some teary eyes in the audience. Even though I only had 6 weeks with this ward, I feel so blessed to have known them. They are so special.

Basically that was my last week, even though it is missing a LOT!

I have 2 scriptures I want to share.

1. Alma 17:23 …Yea, I desire to dwell among this people for a time; yea, and perhaps until the day I die.

This is SO hard for me. Leaving all these wonderful people here… They will forever remain in my heart.

2. 2 Timothy 4:7 I have fought a good fight, I have finished my course, I have kept the faith:

The mission has reached its end. I cannot believe it.

I want each and every one of you to know how much I love this gospel. I KNOW how true it is. I truly am a reflection of the faith that I have and though it may be small like a seed, each and every day it will grow. I am the person that I am because of what I have learned here. I cannot explain to you in words how special this time has been. I will forever cherish it in my heart.

If I haven’t said this enough I want you to know that I LOVE my Savior Jesus Christ. He suffered for me, in my person and in my life. Each day I can turn to that sacrifice for guidance and comfort.

I LOVE my Father in Heaven, He has been next to me each and every step of the way. I confide in Him and will forever for all He has blessed me with.

I LOVE my family. I cannot wait to see you in 2 days. It has been a journey, long or short I do not know. I promise that our family is different through these trials and blessings we have been given.

I LOVE my friends, I consider you special people in my life.You are my family that came into my life without being born into the Swenson family. 

I LOVE my mission. I will never be able to express my love for this country, Puebla, the Elders and Hermanas who serve here with me, the food, the culture, the funny memories. I just will miss it so much.

 

God be with you til we meet again.

 

Thank you all for everything.

Te. Amo.

Elder Swenson

Counting Blessings: My WONDERFUL missionary friends who will continue to serve. I love each and every one of you so very much. You all work hard now, be the best you can be. Reach limits that you have never reached before (I promise you they are endless so you’ll never reach em… hahahaha) Continue in obedience and the Father will bless you. Thank you for walking with me in the Army of Helaman. I feel so blessed to have done it with you.

 

About elderswenson

Serving the Lord for 2 years in Puebla, Mexico :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

